Sunday, April 15, 2007

Young players tried to make an impression in final spring practice

Michigan concluded its Spring Practice schedule yesterday with a spring practice session at The Big House that included a controlled intra-squad scrimmage. The session was open to the public and drew about 5,500 dedicated fans to the two-hour practice. Many of the Wolverines' stars (e.g., Mike Hart, Mario Manningham, Jamar Adams, etc.) sat out the practice which gave the youngsters on the roster a chance in the spotlight. Prior to the commencement of yesterday's practice, Coach Carr answered questions from the media regarding the state of the team. As for the practice, check out the following photo galleries that will make you feel as if you attended the practice session: MGoBlue, The Detroit News, and The Detroit Free Press. Also, you can read a blow-by-blow description of the 4-14-07 practice, as Scott Bell of the Michigan Daily live blogged the practice session.

After the conclusion of yesterday's Spring Practice session, Michigan announced the recipients of three awards presented following spring drills. Senior QB Chad Henne won the Meyer Morton Award presented to the football player who shows the greatest development and most promise as a result of the annual spring practice. DT Will Johnson won the Frederick Matthaei Award presented to the junior-to-be gridder who has displayed leadership, drive and achievement on the athletic field and in the classroom. WR Greg Mathews won the John F. Maulbetsch Award presented to the freshman football candidate after spring practice on the basis of desire, character, capacity for leadership and future success both on and off the gridiron. Go Blue!

*Note: Photo of Coach Carr at 4-14-07 Spring Practice scrimmage by John T. Greilick/The Detroit News



Post a Comment

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home